Friday, February 6, 2015

Thoughts Of Ionesco - "The Triptych Session"

Another example of what having a really good drummer can do for your band. Detroit, Michigan-area three piece Thoughts Of Ionesco were active during the latter half of the 1990s, and dissolved around the beginning of the 21st century. The band played very metallic, angry, and fervent music that really gave off an uncomfortable sense of desperation and general unhappiness. Most of these songs are the earliest recordings they did, and were compiled with two newer songs which feature an additional guitarist. Decent recording quality here; the guitar tone is big, the bass sound (provided by Nate from Empathy) is murky and buried, and the drums are presented here quite cleanly, whatever the fuck that's supposed to mean.

Thoughts Of Ionesco didn't really get the recognition of other heavier hardcore bands that were around during the same period of time. As a result of this they were overlooked by many people. If you dig / dug Converge, Overcast, Catharsis and Coalesce but never had any experience with Thoughts Of Ionesco, here is your chance to make up for lost time. These dudes released a bunch of records throughout their existence, and this is my favorite of the three that I own (the debut 2 song 7" on Cascade and the "...And Then There Was Motion" LP on Makoto being the other two). This stuff may be slightly more hectic overall than the aforementioned bands, but you can decide that for yourself. Released in 1997 on the Conquer The World Records imprint "Black" (because they were a fucking metal band) and is CTW #19.

-Snowing Red-

1) Randall
2) Ascension Versus Conceit
3) Blamesday in C Major
4) Crimson Reflections
5) Martyr
6) Chronicle
7) 1,000 Nights - Commencement
8) Quickening the Pulse of a Grey Noise / Violence Versus Motion

No comments:

Post a Comment