Monday, January 19, 2015

V/A - "A Document Of Nothing" compilation cd

This cd was a joint venture from Second Nature Recordings (#2) and Out Structured fanzine (#1), two pretty important 90s ventures from the mid-western state of Missouri. Up to this point, Dan from Second Nature cut his teeth with Second Nature Fanzine, which was quite an enjoyable read. I have three or four issues of SN, and I hope to get them uploaded on here sometime soon. The first Second Nature Recordings release was a Coalesce cd, which combined the band's 2 song 7" (originally released by San Francisco's Chapter Recs), two live songs from CBGB's and one previously unreleased jam. This here compilation was Dan's second release as a record label, and it came out in 1996. In addition to Coalesce, this label went on to release tons of stuff by bands such as Grade, Rocky Votolato, Reggie And The Full Effect, Isis, the pre-Harvest and Threadbare band Krakatoa, Blood Brothers, etc.

Needless to say, this is a pretty necessary mid 90s comp, with quite a few notable bands from the era making an appearance. My personal favorite songs here are the ones from Harvest, Converge and, once it gets going, Mainspring. It also has arguably the best song Enkindel ever wrote, before they became shitty and re-branded themselves as The Enkindels. Enjoy!


1) Enkindel - "Half Witted"
2) Harvest - "Cessation"
3) Cycle - "One Thousand"
4) Stedding - "Tread"
5) Two Line Filler - "I'm Just Fine"
6) Despair - "Fletcher"
7) Walleye - "Crowned"
8) Combination Grey - "Twelve Steps"
9) Endeavor - "Balance Of The Rungs"
10) Autumn - "Final Dream"
11) Rain Still Falls - "Driver"
12) Converge - "Shingles"
13) Surface - "View"
14) Jejune - "Stresser"
15) Mainspring - "From The Tranches"


  1. Replies
    1. Indeed. Pretty sure I'll be uploading my Forethought 7" sometime soon, which was pre-Autumn.